Home > Career, Life > Not Being Miserable, Part 3: When work isn’t work

Not Being Miserable, Part 3: When work isn’t work

About the series: Not Being Miserable is my ultimate goal, and I’ll do whatever it takes to achieve it. All other goals are pursued solely for the purpose of serving the needs of this ultimate goal. This series catalogs various insights I have in this area. Please excuse the mind-diarrhea.

Part 3: When work isn’t work.

“Do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life.” In other words, if you find something that you like doing (it engages and challenges you) and you manage to earn a living doing it, you’ll be very fortunate indeed. Of course, it’s easier said than done. Nevertheless, that is my goal. I want to be able to say what this guy said in an article:

A couple of days ago, as I sat in a park in New Orleans with a friend and her son, I was checking my email only to have my friend, who is also an academic, turn to me and say, “Do you ever stop thinking about work?” As I thought about how to answer that question seriously, I realized that it was based on a flawed premise: that I perceive what I do as “work.” That’s not the way it feels. I answered, “In some sense, no, I don’t ever stop thinking about ‘work.’ But what I do does not feel like work. It’s a calling.

–Steven Horwitz

Good luck.

Categories: Career, Life Tags: , ,
  1. Johnteezey
    2009-11-13 at 11:52:37

    I was like, why is this so familiar, and then I realized, oh yeah I linked you that article. Glad you found it worthwhile for the reason I knew you would find it interesting!

    You should put this in the “Not Being Miserable Series!”

  2. Johnteezey
    2009-11-16 at 11:09:19

    On the other hand:
    “It is a cursed evil to any man to become as absorbed in any subject as I am in mine.” – Charles Darwin

  3. 2011-10-03 at 22:33:44

    Balance.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

